The Lascaris Palace of Nice is, just like the Basilica of Notre Dame and Promenade des Anglais, one of the top tourist sights in the capital of the French Riviera. Located in Vieux Nice, Palais Lascaris is a historical monument (listed as such in 1946) and a museum at the same time.

The museum displays a collection of musical instruments, retracing the history of their making and use. However, the palace is usually appreciated for its architectural and decorative qualities. Built in the first half of the 17th century, the history of Palais Lascaries goes, until the early 19th century, hand in hand with the history of the Vintimille-Lascaris family, the original owners of the place.

After a period of administrative dereliction, the palace was bought by the city of Nice and restored to its past splendor. The lush interior decorations, including frescoed walls, tapestries and pieces of furniture, the monumental ceilings and stairs lined with sculptures, which lead to the intimate rooms located at the second floor of the building, all these are but a part of what visitors can admire inside the Lascaris Palace.

The first floor is commonly used for temporary exhibitions, whereas the ground floor is where a 17th century pharmacy, which keeps much of its past atmosphere, is located.

Name:
Lascaris Palace (Palais Lascaris)
Address:
15, Rue Droite, 06300, Nice, France
Telephone:
0033 04 9362 7240
Fax:
0033 04 9392 0419
Opening hours:
daily (except Tuesdays and public holidays): 10am to 6pm
Admission:
Free

15, Rue Droite, 06300, Nice, France

Go to top